Hope Is a Risk – Double LP

Maggie Pills’ debut album!

* Printed lyrics on the inside
* Black 180 gram 12″ 33rpm vinyls


Hope Is a Risk (Double Vinyl)

Fiercely swinging between the guttural rawness of grunge and the playful lushness of pop, “Hope is a Risk” is the ambitious 14 track debut LP of Latin-Australian outfit The Maggie Pills.

Led by Argentinian frontwoman Delfi Sorondo and Venezuelan drummer Mario Perez, “Hope is a Risk” reimagines punk through an emotionally visceral lens, jam-packed with impish latin percussions, razor-sharp guitars, fuzzy bass lines, unhinged synths and gestural vocals that feel playfully, pop and iconic. The result is an impressive self-produced album that masters the intersections between intuitive and mathematical, grunge and pop, gothic and colourful.

Self-produced by Mario Perez, the album seeks a sound outside of indie-rock,  providing an atmospheric, wet and kaleidoscopic sound wall of cosmic proportions as an overall base for the LP. Mastered by legendary sound engineer Joe Carra (Amyl & The Sniffers, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Courtney Barnett) “Hope is a Risk” is a unique addition to Australia’s indie-rock catalogue.

Album tracklisting

  1. City Rats
  2. Unbound
  3. The Freedom Club
  4. Hope Is a Risk
  5. Bright The Brightest Light
  6. The Banality of Evil
  7. You
  8. X.W.X.
  9. Helena
  10. Well
  11. Let Pilgrim
  12. Half Light
  13. The Scourge Within
  14. Electric Blue